Aerospace Studies Department

Roy C. Martin, Maj, USAF, Education Officer

Baylor University

The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor participates in a cross-town agreement with Baylor University, which allows UMHB students to take Air Force Reserve Officers Training Corps (AFROTC) / Aerospace Studies classes offered at Baylor. Students who participate in the AFROTC program are eligible to receive a waiver for two hours of required Exercise and Sport Science activity courses.

Leadership Laboratory (LLAB)

The AERO 1111, AERO 1112, AERO 2111, AERO 2112, AERO 3111, AERO 3112, AERO 4111, and AERO 4112 classes are collectively referred to as the Leadership Laboratory (LLAB) and are required for cadets pursuing a commission in the Air Force. Instruction is conducted within the framework of an organized cadet corps with a progression of experiences designed to develop leadership potential. LLAB involves a study of Air Force customs and courtesies, drill and ceremonies, career opportunities in the Air Force, and the life and work of an Air Force commissioned officer. Field trips to Air Force installations may be included when funding permits. Physical training and fitness evaluations are required. Cadets enrolled in LLAB are required to submit documentation of twice-weekly, 1 hour physical training (PT) sessions. Cadets must also attend at least 80% of LLAB activities (i.e., practical military training), which averages two hours per week throughout a cadet’s entire enrollment in the AFROTC program.

General Military Course (GMC)

The AERO 1101, AERO 1102, AERO 2101, and AERO 2102 classes are collectively referred to as the General Military Course (GMC) and have Leadership Laboratory co-requisites for cadets. The GMC concentrates on two major themes: (1) Foundation of the United States Air Force and (2) Evolution of USAF Air and Space Power. Students will survey the basic characteristics, missions, and organization of the Air Force and examine the development and employment of air power. For cadets, the GMC culminates in a four-week, off campus training course called Leadership Evaluation and Development (LEAD). Cadets who begin AFROTC with an expectation to complete the program and their baccalaureate degree in less than 4 years may concurrently take AERO 1101 and 2101 or AERO 1102 and 2102 in order to preserve at least 2 full years in the Professional Officer Course.

Leadership Evaluation and Development (LEAD)

Eligible cadets compete, on a nationwide basis, to attend Leadership Evaluation and Development (LEAD) during the summer months at an Air Force training site in the United States. Students usually compete for a LEAD enrollment allocation in the spring of their sophomore year and attend LEAD that summer. LEAD expenses are paid by the Air Force and successful completion of LEAD enables students to enroll in the Professional Officer Course.

Professional Officer Course (POC)

The AERO 3301, AERO 3302, AERO 4301, and AERO 4302 classes are collectively referred to as the Professional Officer Course and have Leadership Laboratory co-requisites for cadets. The POC concentrates on two major themes: (1) United States Air Force Leadership Studies and (2) National Security Affairs and Preparation for Active Duty. Students will learn advanced skills in management and leadership and will be provided the foundation to understand the role of military officers in American society. For cadets, successful completion of the POC and a baccalaureate degree results in commissioning as an Air Force second lieutenant and a call to extended active duty (i.e. full-time military service) within 365 days of the commissioning date.

AFROTC Courses for Other Students

Students who are not pursuing a career as an Air Force officer may take the AERO 1101, 1102, 2101, 2102, 3301, 3302, 4301, and 4302 classes for credit. These students will not register for the leadership laboratory portion (i.e., AERO 1111, 1112, 2111, 2112, 3111, 3112, 4111, 4112) of the AFROTC program and are not considered cadets. There is no military service obligation for students who enroll in these classes.

Additional Information

Scholarships and abbreviated commissioning programs may exist for qualified candidates. To inquire about any of the traditional or abbreviated programs and for more information about scholarship opportunities, contact

The Department of Aerospace Studies is located in the Baylor University Speight Plaza Building and Parking Garage, Suite 100, 1521 S. 4th Street, Waco, Texas. The telephone number is (254) 710-3513. Additionally, the mailing address is AFROTC Detachment 810, Baylor University, One Bear Place #97070, Waco, TX 76798