Communication and Dramatic Arts Scholarships

Mary Elizabeth Webster Edwards Endowed Scholarship: This endowed scholarship was established by Mary Elizabeth Webster Edwards, Class of 1929, of Selma, Alabama. This scholarship is to be given to students majoring in communication. In the event that no qualified student majoring in communication is granted this scholarship, then it is given to qualified students certifying in English.

Michele A. McClure Endowed Scholarship: This scholarship was established through the estate of Michele McClure to help provide financial assistance for deserving performance studies and communication majors at UMHB.

Orrick Scholarship: The purpose of this scholarship is to provide financial assistance to worthy students studying communication and drama.

Mary Ailese Parten Endowed Memorial Scholarship: This scholarship was established by bequest and gifts of family and friends and dedicated to the lives of a mother and her three daughters who were employed by, attended, or graduated from the university. It is intended for female sophomores through seniors majoring in mass communication/journalism.

Judy Oetken Pynes Endowed Scholarship: This scholarship, established from the estate of Judy Oetken Pynes, Class of 1962, is to be awarded to any students (sophomore through senior) that qualify for financial aid under the guidelines established by the university and studying toward a mass communication major.

Rachel C. Shipp Endowed Scholarship: This endowed scholarship was made possible through the trust of Rachel C. Shipp. Preference is given to those students who are majoring in speech.